Defence Engineers and Scientists Honoured for Excellence and Innovation in Defence Technology

Defence Engineers and Scientists Honoured for Excellence and Innovation in Defence Technology

Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen presented the Defence Technology Prize (DTP) to two individuals and five teams at the DTP award ceremony held at MINDEF Auditorium this afternoon. Among them are individuals and teams from MINDEF agencies - including Defence Science and Technology Agency (DSTA) and DSO National Laboratories - and the defence industry.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Dr Ng lauded the Defence Technology Community (DTC[1])'s contributions, and said that the "accumulated expertise that resides in our people - our scientists and engineers - made a national impact", particularly in the national fight against COVID-19. He added that, "For every potential crisis - whether it is shortage of personal protective equipment, masks, tests etc., we are steadied because we know that there is a repository of information, know-how and commitment in the staff of DSO, DSTA, the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) and ST Engineering. And they delivered each time."

Dr Ng also credited the scientists and engineers for their common motivation to build something better than anyone had conceived of before. He said, "(The DTP) represents a wide range of innovations to help deal with our various security threats. Many of these projects took years to mature, and there were many failures and heartaches along the way. What is retained is not only just success or failure, but the knowledge that is deposited in our people - the human capital that adds to their repository of information, their knowledge and experience... This proved itself in our battle against COVID-19." Dr Ng added that "The core missions [of the SAF, DSTA and DSO] against traditional security threats must continue and not flag... In both peace-time and to prevent aggression and war, the DTC plays a crucial and vital role in ensuring that we (MINDEF and SAF) can fulfil our mission to preserve the sovereignty and stability of Singapore."

Established in 1989, the DTP is awarded annually to individuals and teams that have made significant technological contributions to the defence capability of Singapore. The DTP also serves to foster technological innovation and encourage breakthroughs in defence science and technology.


[1] The DTC comprises several entities within MINDEF - Future Systems & Technology Directorate (FSTD), Technology Strategy & Policy Office (TSPO), Industry & Resources Policy Office (IRPO) and Defence Technology Collaboration Office (DTCO) - as well as DSTA and DSO National Laboratories.

Suggested Articles