Fact Sheet: PayNow Pilot for Immediate Payment of IPPT Incentive Awards to SAF NSmen

Fact Sheet: PayNow Pilot for Immediate Payment of IPPT Incentive Awards to SAF NSmen

Background of IPPT Incentive Awards

1.    The physical fitness of our servicemen and women is fundamental to the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF)’s operational readiness. Physical fitness is also a personal responsibility. All Operationally Ready National Servicemen (NSmen) are required to attempt and pass their annual Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) within their IPPT window. Upon passing and depending on the total IPPT score, they will receive an IPPT incentive award.  Currently, NSmen receive their IPPT incentive award via GIRO around 14 days after completing IPPT. 

Introduction of PayNow Pilot

2.    MINDEF is piloting the use of PayNow[1] to provide immediate payment of IPPT incentive awards to SAF NSmen, thereby enhancing the NS experience for national servicemen. This initiative is in line with the government’s efforts to promote the adoption of more efficient payment methods as part of the move towards a Smart Nation. All SAF NSmen who choose to take their IPPT at Fitness Conditioning Centres (FCCs) will benefit from this initiative.

a.    Benefits of PayNow for IPPT Incentive Awards. Under the PayNow pilot, NSmen who have registered for PayNow and linked their PayNow accounts to their NRIC numbers will be able to receive their awards in their bank accounts immediately after completing IPPT. This significantly reduces the time taken to receive the awards. 

b.    Implementation. The pilot will commence in early 2019 at Maju Fitness Conditioning Centre (FCC) as it has the highest number of NSmen IPPT participants among the four FCCs. PayNow for IPPT Incentive Awards is expected to be implemented at all FCCs by mid-2019. The exact launch date of the pilot at Maju FCC as well as the roll-out at the other FCCs in Bedok, Khatib, Kranji and will be released on the NS Portal website (www.NS.sg) closer to the respective dates.


[1] PayNow is a secure funds transfer service available to customers of the following participating banks in Singapore: Bank of China, Citibank Singapore Limited, DBS Bank/POSB, HSBC, Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited, Maybank, OCBC Bank, Standard Chartered Bank and United Overseas Bank. PayNow is a free service and is available 24/7, 365 days a year. For more information on PayNow, please visit the Association of Banks in Singapore’s website at www.abs.org.sg/PayNow.


Suggested Articles